top of page
Search
  • LaCalaveraCat

What I Most Love About Fall


I know, I know, it’s not yet a “ber” month. And today’s high was 83, with some yucky humidity tacked on for good measure. And I just read that some towns in my state of Massachusetts are starting to spray for summer mosquitos carrying the Eastern equine encephalitis (EEE) virus. All the things that make me hate summer are still here. 


But, on one of my daily walks, I swear that I saw a tree in someone’s yard turning yellow; yes, the tree was most likely ill to be turning so early in the season, but still. And, hand on my heart, I definitely felt that first tiny wisp of coolish air that had managed to break through the warm summer humidity today. Because I’m a vampire, I don’t even mind that the sun will set at 7:25 p.m. today, an hour earlier than it did on July 1. 


And so, with the shortening days and the onset of the very best season of the year, here’s a list of the things I’m most looking forward to this fall:


  • Pumpkin spice lattes. I’m basic, and I don’t care. I love the smell of “pumpkin” spices, and that sickly sweet taste of flavored coffee. To be honest, I love all things pumpkin, and I have been making delicious pumpkin muffins since at least July. I propose a petition to make pumpkin-flavored coffees and bakery items an all-year thing so that I can get a taste of fall whenever I want it.

  • Sweater weather. You may have noticed, from the very first paragraph of this post and from some of my previous posts, that I hate the heat of summer. I hate being sweaty, stinky, and sticky. I also really dislike wearing tank tops, shorts, and spaghetti straps. Bring on the maxi skirts and the cardigans. Weather that has you snuggling up on a couch beneath a cozy afghan and sipping hot chocolate is my idea of heaven.

  • Horror movies and horror books. Of course, I can watch and read horror anytime of the year. But doing so while the sun is brilliantly shining and sweat is running down your back, well, the fear just doesn’t strike the same (although, I will say that Ari Aster’s Midsommar did a brilliant job of subverting the use of dark months to ratchet up the horror. Never has the brilliant summer sun and masses of color flowers been so sinister).

  • Town fairs. Fall is when all manner of regional and town fairs blow into towns. The food may be fried and fattening and the rides sketchy as hell, but I love town fairs. The pig races, the corn dogs, the caramel apples, all of them scratch that lovely autumn itch for me.


So don’t mind me. I’ll just be here in my home office gleefully crossing out each of the final days of August as the year slowly falls into the very best season of the year.


2 views0 comments

Comments


Blog: Blog2
bottom of page